Eighties throwback

The good news is that Doogs the cat is on the mend, despite endearing himself by peeing on the back seat of the car en route to the vet. Nice. As Jeremy Clarkson would say, there is nothing like the scent of Eau de cat wee to enhance the driving experience of the Nissan Micra. Anyway, he – Doogs the cat that is, not Clarkson – has had the disgusting drain thing taken out of his wound and is now allowed out. A huge relief to him, myself and DJ, who will now be able to sleep without being kept awake by Doogs caterwauling in the spare room. Bless him. He must be better as he tried to bite me last night. Ah. Doogs that is, not DJ.

The bad news, however, is that my cider vinegar has gone awry and has fruit flies in it. Ick.  Typical. I thought the recipe seemed too easy. DJ investigated and apparently I need some muslin to go over the vinegar to allow oxygen etc. in but to keep the bugs out. Have to try and get some.

Despite these trials we had a good weekend. Frugal activities included a fancy dress party with an Eighties theme at DJ’s friend Matt’s house. Dressing up certainly seems to have caught on in our social circle lately. We raided the charity shops in Billericay for costume material. DJ is unusual in having lived in Africa during the Eighties and being relatively unfamiliar with Eighties culture (or lack of it) had only really heard of Adam Ant and so decided, after doing some research on YouTube to go as the dandy highwayman. However, it proved more difficult than we thought to find a nice frilly shirt for him – until I uncovered a tasteful woman’s blouse in the Cancer Research Shop. “What a luvverly blouse,” said the chirpy elderly lady behind the till. “Will you be wearing it tonight, dear?” she asked as I paid for it while DJ continued looking for accessories. “Er, no but my boyfriend will,” I answered bravely. To her credit she didn’t bat an eyelid. Not bad for £2.90 though.

After a flash of inspiration opted for Boy George as my mum used to do my hair in six plaits when I was about seven anyway as I was a bit of a fan. Luckily I had a suitable hat bought ages ago for £2 in a sale at Tie Rack. This I supplemented with a £4.50 (bit pricey I know) long black coat from the charity shop, a black and gold kaftan for £2.95, and my own green trousers. Then for the hair I did about six or so plaits each side of my head and interwove bits of ribbon I had lying about the house (the brown ones tie our bedroom curtains out of the way!).

And I have to say, although there were some cool costumes – Matt and his mate Will went as Iceman and Maverick from Top Gun, James was stunning in his all-in-one Rambo outfit (haven’t yet worked out how he went to the loo in it) and another chap made a fantastic Freddie Mercury – I think we looked fab!

This entry was posted in Frugal fun. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eighties throwback

  1. Unknown says:

    battery
    acer lip6179qupcsy6 battery
    acer btp-arj1 battery

    acer btp-amj1 battery
    acer travelmate 3240 battery
    acer travelmate 3240 battery
    acer batecq60 battery
    acer aspire 1800 battery
    apple a1022 battery
    apple a1079 battery
    apple a1078 battery
    apple a1045 battery

    apple a1185 white battery
    apple a1185 black battery
    asus a42-a3 battery
    asus a3000 battery
    asus z9100 battery
    asus a3 battery
    asus z91 battery
    asus a32-a8 battery
    asus a8 battery

    asus z99 battery
    asus m3000 battery
    asus m3n battery
    asus m3000n battery
    asus m3 battery
    asus a42-m6 battery
    asus m6n battery
    asus m67 battery
    asus m67n battery

    asus m68 battery
    asus m68n battery
    asus m6000 battery
    asus a42-w1 battery
    asus w1 battery
    asus w1g battery
    asus w1v battery
    asus w1000 battery
    asus w1000n

Leave a Reply

