A Christmas haircut

 

My hair has been bothering me for some time now. Weeks, months even. It has got so long that I’ve had trouble seeing to cross the road, especially when the wind blows. As a rule, Terretts have big hair. Even my Dad has long curly hair – he keeps it in a pony tail most of the time but occasionally gets it out and it’s pretty amazing. My paternal grandfather also shuffled off this mortal coil in his eighties with a terrific head of wavy hair. And I’m definitely a chip off the old block. A hairdresser once told me in hushed tones that I have the hair of three people on my head. I don’t know whose, but I suspect it’s probably Robert Plant, Michael Jackson during his afro era and Lady Godiva.

Anyway. I’d been in a frugal dilemma about my locks. I want to look my best for the Christmas season but I don’t want to shell out lots of cash for a trim. The last time I paid for a salon haircut was in May. Luckily you can get away without cutting long hair for ages, although of course an army of hairdressers will eventually tut at you when you finally go to a salon and cross themselves for shame at your horrendous split ends.

Previously I used to get my hair cut near my old work in Old Street and paid £45 for a wash, trim and a bone crunching, migraine-inducing head massage. Well, in my defence, I felt like I was being pampered, and a bottle of Becks was included in the price.

When I came to my senses I started frequenting my local salon and paying £13 for a wash and cut. Much more like it! Unfortunately earlier this year my hairdresser slipped a disc and while she was flat on her back her business partner whacked the prices right up. So the last time I went a wash and cut cost £23. Still not London prices, but a 77 per cent price increase no less!

DJ cuts his own hair and has done for years. He owns a set of clippers and has threatened to use them on me a few times, but the noise gives me the willies, I don’t know why. So today I decided to revive technique I used when I was skint a few years ago. It was passed on to my mother from an Asian mum whose kids went to the primary school she used to teach at.

What you do – and this will only work if you’ve got long hair all roughly the same length – is divide it into two bunches, it helps to put one scrunchie at the top of the bunch and another close to the ends. It’s easier to do it when your hair is wet too. Then trim the end of each bunch with a pair of scissors in front of the mirror. It’s not an exact science – the problem is making sure each side is the same length otherwise you’re tempted to keep hacking away to make each side even, and eventually you run out of hair! But if you’re careful it should be ok. And best of all it’s free!

How much would you spend on getting your hair done?

This entry was posted in Moneysaving tips. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Christmas haircut

  1. pookie says:

    If you have a college near you ……….they do all sorts of treatment for next to nothing manicures, pedicures, haircuts, waxings owt… 

  2. Sarah says:

    Just spent £67:25 on a christmas hair cut and colour… and it looks mighty fine 🙂

  3. piper says:

    Thanks Pookie II – that\’s a great tip.   Sounds like you\’re looking good Hula!  Have a great Christmas. x

  4. snaggletooth says:

    I\’ve had free haircuts for the past 20 years or so, (then again, that\’s not far off the length of time it\’s been disappearing!) I just use the old clippers!

  5. Anne says:

    LOL, after reading this blog it really cheered me up. I have hair like yours, I used to spend £40 every week getting it \’done\’ which I justified by the fact that I\’m the boss, I didn\’t have time to do it myself and it was my treat. Anyhow in October, I had to cover another job which meant I didn\’t have time to go every week. Saving £560 since October which is scary, when your just talking about hair! I\’ve vowed 2008 not to be wasteful, I love this site!
     

Leave a Reply

