Peppermint tea time…

Ouch…I seem to have given myself indigestion, hence the peppermint tea. I was rushing about this morning catching up on some boring old household chores – cleaning the kitchen floor which was covered with mud (poor Thelma’s eye is playing up again – she had problems with it last year – and so she has to have five doses of eye drops a day, hence muddy chicken prints all over the kitchen floor as it’s easiest to bring her indoors to administer them…although she spent most of the time slapping me in the face with her wings!), hoovering, doing the washing etc. – and so by 11.15 I was so hungry that I decided I’d have my lunch early. Fortunately yesterday’s leftovers – fennel, ginger and miso soup – were sitting ready in a little Tupperware box in the fridge. Unfortunately I ate them too fast – also possibly added a bit too much curry paste whilst trying to bulk it up a bit – and am now supping peppermint tea to counteract the effects. Eek.

Following my request last week, Christine left me links to some recipes using some of the weird and wonderful things left in my cupboards – namely semolina and miso soup. I bought the miso soup sachets ages ago after buying a Gillian McKeith’s cookery book in another of my failed attempts to get fit. Unfortunately I discovered I wasn’t massively keen on the stuff, so it’s been languishing in the back of the cupboard ever since. Anyway, yesterday I tried out the miso recipe after popping out of course to get some fennel. Halfway through cooking I realised I’d misread the recipe and it was actually miso paste not miso soup that was the main ingredient. Oops! Similar but not the same. At that point I decided I’d just make it up as I went along. The recipe required chicken stock, so I threw that in, plus a sachet of miso soup and then in place of the paste I used some Thai yellow curry paste hiding in the fridge. Not the same, I know, but it added a nice curry flavour. Then I added a few squirts of soy sauce, some veggies – mushrooms, tinned sweetcorn and a few slices of courgette – and to bulk it up I broke up half a nest of egg noodles and threw them in. I didn’t bother to process the soup as it says in the recipe. Surprisingly for such a spur-of-the-moment concoction it was actually very nice and filling. Plus pretty healthy too. Apparently you can also use miso as a stock, so perhaps I could also use it in some casseroles too.

The semolina I thought posed more of a challenge. It was purchased for making shortbread, which I’m tempted to do as it is sooo easy and delicious, but it’s just not a good idea at the moment while I’m trying to shed a few pounds. So I needed to find something less piggy to make with it. Christine suggested an Indian semolina cake recipe. And surprisingly enough, after a bit of internet trawling I discovered that it’s used not just to make semolina pudding but also to help roast potatoes crisp up – one of Nigella Lawson’s favourite tricks –also as an ingredient in pizza dough, to make a type of Indian pancake, as an alternative to rice and even as an ingredient in pasta! I had no idea! Will be trying out some of these alternatives I think and reporting back.

Have also noticed some nettles growing in the back garden so it might be time to try out some nettle recipes too. Can anybody suggest any besides nettle tea?

This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Peppermint tea time…

  1. Christine says:

    Nettles on the compost heapDON\’T PUT THE ROOTS ON IT but they are brilliant in helping a heap to rotNettle SoupOld recipe known for ages but never dared to try it. I\’m told its OK but …..Nettle TeaSomething I have never tried but am told it\’s good for various things

  2. shea says:

    i have a lot of good soup recipes that call for the soup to be processed in the blender, but i usually don\’t do it. i like my soups to be chunky; even creamy soups are good with big chunks of asparagus or broccoli.

  3. piper says:

    Aha…I know what you mean.  I like a compromise so I usually lift a few ladlefuls of the chunky stuff out first and put it in a bowl while I process it and then put them back afterwards so you get a bit of both. Nothing more delicious than homemade soup! 

Leave a Reply

