Food challenge: Aldi week begins

Phew! My worries last week on the Woolton pie front were thankfully unwarranted, despite tales that the vegetarian pie, named after the famous Minister for Food, was a standing joke during World War Two because it was considered so unappetising. Even DJ, who initially pulled a face on Friday night when he got home and found out what I was cooking, said he enjoyed it. Maybe it was because I did, admittedly, doctor it a tiny bit by adding a few dried herbs to make it a bit more palatable. Or perhaps the taste of the gravy covered it up! But surprise, surprise, DJ actually said he would eat it again, which was a big thumbs up for the recipe and, frankly, my cooking in general.

Now, happily, I am leaving the frightening days – and food (apologies, but I won’t miss some of these bland, tasteless recipes, I must say)– of World War Two behind and throwing in my lot with the discount supermarkets.

Cut-price stores, like Lidl and Aldi, have sprung up all over the UK in recent years. And while some British consumers might not like to admit to shopping there, as the credit crunch bites Aldi has reported a 25 per cent increase in sales as price conscious shoppers desert Tesco and Asda to hunt for bargains there. (Check out this interesting article on supermarket snobbery on MSN)

Aldi has even started a website campaign – www.saveamillionwithaldi.co.uk – to encourage more people to shop at its stores by showing them how much they could save over a lifetime. The supermarket reckons one mum of a family with three children, based in Lincoln, who recently ditched conventional stores to shop at Aldi could save more than £44,000 over her lifetime (based on her previous shopping bill of £90 a week). It claims she saves at least £20 a week on her bill now.

So, I thought I’d see for myself whether, snobbery aside, there is any significant difference in price and product quality between Aldi and conventional supermarkets, by doing all of my food shopping this week in our nearest store.

I’m not entirely a stranger to Aldi. I have been in our local one before, although I’ve yet to try out the food. About a year ago I bought some tomatoes and mozzarella from there but sadly ended up throwing them away as a sniffy DJ refused point blank to eat them.

One issue, though, is that our nearest one is almost six miles away and we need to see if the savings we make are worth the extra petrol spend to get there.

Would you shop at a discounted supermarket like Lidl or Aldi? If you shop there already, does it help you save on your grocery bill?

This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Food challenge: Aldi week begins

  1. Chris says:

    I have to say I shop at Aldi quite regularly and have seen an increase in customer numbers over the last few weeks.  As for the savings I have to say yes it does save me money, although I tend to blow that by buying the other bits a pieces they sell!
    I can recomend the Brooklea Fromage Frais, absolutely wonderful!
    Chris

  2. paul says:

     aldi but dont realy buy anything as it never seems to be cheaper than tesco some things are dearer tomato paste 25p tesco 24p.pity netto never gets mentiond thats a cheaper store than lidl/aldi

  3. W. says:

    Those who don\’t shop at a nearby Aldi shop are showing that they have more money than brains, especially when the "big" supermarkets nearby display rip-off prices for many staples that are 20-40% cheaper at Aldi (or Netto).  Of course, if your "social status" is essential to your sense of self-worth, you will continue to line the pockets of the big supermarkets with ill-gotten profits.  And petty snobbery being such an essential component in a shallow, "label-conscious" age, most will continue to turn up their noses at common sense.  Sad. 

  4. Unknown says:

    Having shopped at Lidl & Aldi for the last 4/5 years I would like to say that not only do I save money – their products are really good. It would take too long to talk about all I buy but will give a few recommendations (I do however still buy my freerange egg\’s, chicken and home made sausages from my local butcher)
    The fruit, veg & salad at Lidl is top quality, it stays fresher for longer  and I never have to throw any out, unlike what is sold at some of the other supermarkets. the butter from both stores is great and still under £1, as is their selection of cheese. Pasta & rice etc is top quality. Fruit juices are a great saving in both stores – Aldi sell a good selection of fruit juices "not from concentrate" and Lidl sell lemonade in small bottles, no worries about fitting a big bottle in the fridge which looses it\’s fizz anyway!! The bottled water in both stores is around 25p for a small one. 
    Aldi\’s frankfurters are the only ones i have found with over 90% pork – no "lips, eyes or reconstituted chicken here"!! The frozen lamb shanks, duck with pancakes and plum sauce, beef wellington……..exceptional, and so is the fresh meat from both stores.
    I cannot understand why people make a face when I tell them where I shop – my comment is always "give it a try" I have converted both of my daughters and a few friends. 
    My relatives in Waltham Abbey are waiting in the hopes that the Lidl store promised will actually be built soon. 
    I have to travel about 8 miles for my nearest stores and still find it\’s worth it taking into account the cost of petrol.
    The only thing I have not found at either store is a good instant coffee so i do have to shop at the local store to buy my prefered brand.
     

  5. Donna says:

    I have shopped at Lidl and Aldi for years, often getting disapproving looks from work colleagues.  That was until one lunchtime I dragged a couple of them with me to my local shop.  Can you imagine the look on their face when they saw the delicious fresh fruit and veg on display?!  They are now converted.  Although there are some people I know who still have a snobbish attitude to shopping in Aldi or Lidl but this is often because they have never been in one of their stores and think it is a cheap and cheerful shop that sells rubbish.  Both Lidl and Aldi have excellent quality of fruit and veg (although personally Lidl\’s is slightly better quality than Aldi).  I have converted my husband to buying from our local Aldi store.  Having a 24 hour Asda within walking distance still does not deter me from driving to Aldi as I know their produce is far superior.  The fruit and veg is fresh and last much longer.  The meat and meat products have a high percentage of meat in them.  Fish products also have a high percentage of fish in them and less rubbish!  Pet foods are also very popular, if you have a fussy cat, try their cat food pouches which are a fraction of the cost of felix style cat foods.  I can\’t say anything bad about either store other than when are they bringing a Lidl closer to me as I have to travel 10 miles to the nearest store!!

  6. Mandy says:

    Have shopped in Lidl for the past 10 years and cannot rate them highly enough, just wish our local one was as big as the last one I used to use.  Meat is far better quality than Asda and as I really hate any sort of shopping, being able to get in and out in less than 30 minutes is a huge bonus.  If you\’ve never tried them you don\’t know what you\’re missing.

  7. rik says:

    We\’ve started to use the local Aldi store and found, so far, a lot of their stuff is as good, if not better than the "big" stores. Obviously not everything will be to your taste but then that\’s the case with any supermarket of course. I think we\’ll have to try Lidl for veg even though it\’s further away if what "no name" below say\’s is true, as we\’re sick of throwing things out after a couple of days!

  8. Andrew says:

    I have shopped at Lidl for aboutthe last 6 years . I notice that the local store is getting busier and busier . Little wonder ! Their fruit and veg
    are Class 1 grade and are fresh . I for the life of me cannot understand people going to buy the same lettuce imported sometimes from Spain for almost double the price in other outlets . In addition full marks to them as they try to source locally ,so anyone who
    complains that it is a "foreign store" think again . I also note that most products are packed in a clean atmosphere (meat products)
    It is not for me to persuade others to shop there as everyone has a choice .

  9. michael says:

    i use to live in Havant in Hampshire and use to shop in Tesco, as i could afford it because the prices in the south is cheaper than in surrey for example. But when i moved to Guildford in Surrey the different in prices was unbelievable. I have stopped shopping at tesco and have started as ICELAND and LIDL and ALDI. the food is great and what i use to spend at TESCO in a week is now a two week shopping bill for us. In the house hold it is just my wife and myself. You have to look after the £ so shop at LIDL or ALDI or ICELAND

  10. Charlotte says:

    I live in Shropshire and getting to any supermarket is a trek but me and my husband regularly shop at Lidl and Aldi. The food is good,
    veg is fresh and keeps well and the wine is reasonably priced and they do a good range of beer, plus you get through the tills quicker than big brand shops. Could it be that a majority of people don\’t shop at those two supermarkets because things aren\’t on shelves but stacked on pallets or is it because they are classed as the cheapo shops.   

  11. Unknown says:

    I haven\’t used local Aldi for food shopping yet, but as a keen runner and cyclist they do have a great range of clothing and accessories from time to time. Cheap and hard wearing, if you do a lot of running or cycling I would highly recommend their own brand (crane) for value for money. Not as stylish as Rapha or Assos, of course, but a tenth of the price. If you sign up to thier alert system they send you an email about their special offers.
    Why people are snobby about supermarkets is beyond me in any case. Let\’s face it if you really care about what you eat then you\’d be buying your food from quality family owned organic producers who take pride in their products and history. Of course, you pay more but you know where the food is coming from.
    All supermarkets work the same way as each other by encouraging overfarming and a compromised food chain, so I\’m afraid to say that even the so called quality supermarkets like Marks and Spencer and Waitrose are as guilty as anyone else. We just haven\’t wised up to it yet.
    But, while we strive for a convenient life as possible, wholesome and unprocessed food is being sorely overlooked.

  12. Christine says:

    It\’s not always where you shop buy what you buy that balances the budget. If Aldi or Lidl stocks what you want at a price that you are prepared to pay that\’s fine. But you need to compare like with like when shopping. Oh and only buy what you need or else it will be just as expensive as shopping elsewhere (the ooh look what I have saved so I\’ll buy some more syndrome). You may find that you have a local Heron which is fairly cheap and cheeful for items you have forgotten.Some people are limited because they need heavy shopping delivered (disabled, housebound, carers, no public transport, no access to own transport) which means that they aren\’t able to take advantage of what is on offer at places like Aldi or Lidl where there is no delivery. Now I\’m strictly vegetarian and in fact almost vegan as well as being a bit of an ethical shopper – last time I looked at Lidl I found that there the stock didn\’t cover my normal shopping range so have rather discounted the stores. There is an Aldi locally so I shall go and have a look to see if the range covers what I would buy as I admit to never having been into one of their stores.

  13. Ben says:

    As I was born and grew up in Germany, I am well used to shop at Adli & Lidl. I have used these shops for decades and I have always been happy with their range of products. The best point of both shops in the UK is the number of checkouts they provide. In Germany you would have two checkouts and on a Saturday you start queing for the checkout almost from the moment you enter the shop. So well done to both shops. Another shop I like is Iceland. Iceland provides free home delivery if you spend £25 or more, whereas tesco or ASDA charge you from £3.99 upwards no matter how much you spend. As I don\’t drive a car this is very important to me. So if people have money to burn, let them shop as Asda or Tesco. I will buy most of my stuff at "cheap shops".

  14. Jen says:

    Anyone who\’s worked in a factory should have spotted this one as I did when Aldi first opened (can\’t remember how many years ago) in my local town. Go to the bread baskets. Look at the typical "cheap" brands and you\’ll find the wrappings are identical to the ones sold in Sainsbury, only with a different label. Snobbery? How silly! If not for Aldi, I wouldn\’t be sitting here typing this on this particular computer. Aldi sell great food, and have fantastic promotions, like this computer. (If you get there early enough!)

  15. Brian says:

    Aldi have adopted a cunning plan of building their new stores near a major supermarket. A couple have opened locally recently – one next to Tesco\’s and one next to Sainsbury\’s. I use Aldi because they are near and I can nip to Sainsbury\’s for anything I cannot get but I actually prefer Lidl. I find the layout of Aldi\’s stores confusing with items scattered all over the store in no logical order. They seem more interested in selling their non-food items.  Fruit and veg can be cheap but not always of good quality (Lidl is better I find). Worth a try but I don\’t think I could survive on just Aldi.

  16. Garry says:

    Please everybody wake up! Aldi and Lidls are situated in the poorest areas of the UK and thousands of working class people have been using them for years. Whats the problem? Another feature of this issue is the fact that many of these outlets are situated in refugee dispersal areas (the governments term not mine) and therefore have had a huge increase in sales due to this. With price increases across the whole of the retail market in the UK well done to Aldis and Lidls for providing a choice other than the massive profit making machines of the of the main super stores.  

  17. piper says:

    Wow! Thanks for all the comments. Aldi, Lidl & Iceland are obviously doing something right if so many of you have had such positive shopping experiences. I\’ll let you know how I get on with my first shopping expedition tomorrow. xxx Piper

  18. Teresa says:

    I\’ve been shopping in Lidl for a number of years.They are very good. I save at least £15/week by shopping in there ;))

  19. Dave says:

    Im afraid i have to disagree with the majority here. We have both Aldi & Lidl in our town. Ive tried both a few times.I went to Lidl just 3 weeks ago to try to do a weeks shopping. I didnt expect to see all the normal \’brands\’ but was happy to try other makes of the items i needed. Unfortunatly i could\’nt get half of the items i needed.I got fruit & veg, milk, cheese and a few other things. No Pepsi Max, no Bicardi (or equivilant white rum), no apple & blackcurrent squash, no heinz tomato sauce and no lots of other things.Further to that, the staff on the tills (just two open) were chatting to each other about a planned night out and which staff member was going to end up sleeping with another staff member!!!I ended up going to Morrisons to get the rest of my shopping, and ive not been back to Lidl, not planning to either.Dave

  20. John says:

    Nothing wrong with Lidl, have shopped there for several years. many items they sell are far better and cheaper than Tesco\’s  Ten of the biggest and toughest black sacks for 99p, washing up liquid at 47p, so strong it lasts twice a long as Fairy, Lidl Camembert cheese absolutely devine at 1.07p, I threw the last lot I purchased from Tesco in the bin, it was rubbish.

  21. Christine says:

    I had reason to be in the nearby town with an Aldi this morning. I\’m afraid that I\’m with Dave on this. Had I been going to do a full shop, there was no humus, no vegetarian or vegan cakes or biscuits, no herbal teas of any sort, no non dairy alternatives to butter, no vegetarian cheese, no varieties of red or brown sauce, only red kidney beans, nothing like butter beans or chick peas, no lentils of any sort nor pearl barley.  Now brown sauce, red sauce, red kidney beans, butter beans or chick peas, lentils and pearl barley were all things that were found in the store cupboards of my mother and most of them known to my grandparents so I didn\’t think that I was looking for anything that I hadn\’t grown up with in that area. Some of the other things would have been a surprise to my parents and grandparents. Certainly I didn\’t see alternatives to the things that Dave couldn\’t find either. The vegetables were nothing special today – mostly good quality at a reasonable price but the carrots were on the turn. Pricewise, on the items that were there they were certainly a little cheaper than Tesco next door.  The shoppers who were there had a list of items that they could get cheaper at Aldi and were then going next door to Tesco to top up with the other things that they wanted. Sorry but these were not poor shoppers, just thrifty ones. I did speak to the till operator (who was the area manager) and tell him why I was unlikely to be a returning customer. The other till was being operated by the store manager so the feedback was taken up and thought over. The service was pleasent and customer facing to be fair, the place was clean and properly stocked. So it was rather the same experience as visiting Lidls and also
    visiting Iceland over the years. Mind you as I prefer fresh to frozen
    Iceland really isn\’t my scene anyway.Also having to walk back up a particularly famous steep hill (think vertical climbing wall), there is no incentive to go to the local Aldi for 3 or 4 cheaper tins of "stuff" when you can get them included on the Tesco delivery for coppers more with clubcard points which can eventually be tqken off another delivery or the local Co-op ten mintues down the street which delivers free on orders over £15 and pays out a dividend twice a year.  The club card or dividend scheme covers the coppers I would save in Aldi.Swings and roundabouts. I\’m not against shopping and buying brands that I don\’t know but not having own transport and being virtually vegan does affect what I do.

  22. Tory and Chris says:

    It would be impossible for me to fulfil my weekly shop in either of these stores. Not only that most pf the fresh food is imported – I\’ve never seen British meat, but pig products from Denmark/Netherlands – with their poorer welfare standards – abound. Eco firendly cleaning products? I know these are more expensive on the pocket but at what cost!!? Yes I am fortumate enough to be able to make those choices but I don\’t smoke or have satellite tv ….. Driving to 2 or 3 stores makes little environmental sense. If i was going to do that I\’d go to a local farm shop to stock up on local seasonal foods. Co-op is a cheap store – British – with the best record of fairtrade goods- supporting British farmers & environmental awareness – can Aldi or Lidl make any similar claims?  Also if I can buy with a credit card ( that I pay off every month) I get loyalty points I can spend on days out with the family in the hols (plus any loyalty card points). Is that enough of a rant…

  23. Emma says:

    Well I have to say I tried Aldi\’s for the first time a few weeks ago as the cost of shopping in asda and tesco has become more than my weekly wages now! I was really suprised….a trolly full of stuf came to £61. I was amazed…didnt tell my other half were i had been and suprisingly he asked me were i got bought the quiche as it was really nice! Bread is fine from there and so far all the fruit and veg has been ok and lasted better than tescos! The peanut butter is really yum and I have to say there choc digestives are as good as mcvities. I have been there twice since and each time have been happy.
    I have just poped across the road to top up with a few extra bits like fine beans and once they didnt have any lettuce or skimmed milk but that is fine considering what I would of paid for my £61 shop in Tesco.. I compared the difference by doing the same shop online and tescos came out at £85. So now I will defo continue to shop at aldis and anything I cant get will buy from tescos because saving £20 a week is alot…£80per mnth!!!
     

  24. Mac says:

    Anyone that thinks Aldi products are inferior is so sadly wrong. There products are mostly sourced from Europe and the standards there are much higher than those in the UK. The range of superlative Italian, French and German groceries are unbeatable and are only to be found on the "exotic" or "continental"  shelves of the mainstream UK supermarkets. Of course these supermarkets hike the price on such "special" items! Whereas at Aldi it is an everyday price that is still a huge percentage below the sub-standard UK products. Try the ice cream from Aldi….it is the real Italian stuff, not the chemically enhanced rubbish from UK manufacturers. The vegetables are about 50% cheaper and 50% better quality. The ranges of biscuits and chocolates are the sort of thing you go Ooh and Aaahhh over when on a continental holiday. It is ignorance and brainwashing that makes the UK public look askance at products on UK shelves that  they go potty over when in Europe. The yogurts are the real thing, not the mucked about stuff that packs the shelves at Tesco and similar. Lidl is, in my opinion, better than Aldi and I like to think that the Tesco slogan "Every little helps" is actually a play on words  that applies to Aldi "Every Aldi helps". But please do not rush to an Aldi, I just love the quiet and stress free shopping one can enjoy there. No loud music, no public announcements exhorting you to buy. So please, stay away and allow us afficionados to shop in peace and save enough over a year to fund a really good holiday…on the continent! Let the unwashed hoi polloi remain wedded to Asda/Tesco/Morrisons, they would only get in the way at Aldi and spoil it for those of us in the know.

  25. Madeleine says:

    My family has shopped at Lidl for years and the savings on everyday items are great, but we could never shop just there as we can\’t get half the stuff we need there. I\’m currently in my third year of university studying English and German and am on my year abroad in Germany and I hardly ever go to Lidl or Aldi – there are other German supermarkets such as Rewe and Edeka where you can find exactly the same savings but with a much larger choice. The trouble I have with Lidl, Aldi and all the others is that you can\’t buy items such as blocks of cheese and also, being vegetarian, the substandard – or even total lack of – range of such products. Lidl and Aldi in England have no vegetarian range like their counterparts such as Asda and Tesco, and vegemince, vegesausages, etc are nowhere to be seen. For basics Lidl and Aldi are great, but if you want something even just a little unordinary – a bag of couscous, say – you leave sorely disappointed.

  26. Jenni says:

    Aldi and Lidl are great shops, I first started shopping in Lidl when I was a student in Plymouth, which was amazing as the only other alternative within walking distance was a Sainsburys!! Not good on a student\’s budget!  I find their range of produce very wide and the quality of their fruit and veg (and cured meat) exceptional, although I still buy meat and eggs from my local butcher to support them.  My other half was quite snobby about supermarkets and insisted we only shopped at ASDA (although what there was to be snobby about in there, I have no idea!!), when I was left to the chore by myself I went to LIDL for the monthly shop and saved £40 and came out with a few more items!  BONANZA!
     
    LIDL AND ALDI ALL THE WAY – CREDIT CRUNCH OR NOT!!

  27. andrea says:

    i think aldi and lidl are brillliant quality and prices.i shop at both most weeks as i think you have to budget through this credit crunch as its shocking ie.. most supermarkets ie. tesco sainsburys morrisons  are charging drastic amounts for the same item/s as aldi or lidl. thumbs up to two supermarkets for thers quality and low prices…
    people out there try it for yourselves and see what you could save …..

  28. Andrew says:

    Just opne problem with Aldi\’s statement – There is not an Aldi in Lincoln so how can a woman from Lincoln save this money?  By travelling 15 miles to the nearest one each week?
     
    We have Lidl but as a previous poster has stated they have some of what you want, a lot of rubbish you don\’t want and often go away having to shop again somewhere else to fill in the gaps.  Add to this that some of the stuff is terrible quality and you end up reshopping for them elsewhere.  There are a few things though that are good in there.  Overall I wouldn\’t bother.
     
    We have Netto.  This is a great shop and good quality but again you end up leaving without some items you wanted.  Layout is not too good and stuff scattered everywhere but at least the food is edible unlike Lidl.
     
    We have Poundland.  Not going to get all your shopping from here either BUT for all your toiletries and household goods its a winner by a mile.
     
    So Aldi are making false claims.  Got to Netto instead.  Personally I hate Tesco.  Bad quality, Poor layout etc.  I don\’t like most of Asdas stuff.  Doesn\’t taste too good.  Love Sainsburys.  Always plenty of what you want and because people think it\’s expensive the shelves are never empty.
     
    So for food I go to Netto then fill the gaps from Sainsburys.  Poundland gets the vote for all the toiletries and household goodies.
     
    Andy

  29. Sandi says:

    I\’ve just recently started to shop at Aldi in Newark and found it absoulutley brilliant.
    I have saved nearly £150 this month by not shopping at our local Morrisons, which has hiked their prices up and yet the fresh food I buy goes off in 2 days. Its too costly to have to chuck stuff out.
    Aldi food is nice, cheap and lasts for the week. Plus you get all the decent German food, which is quality.
    At Christmas time they place is a shrine for bits of Chocolate for stockings and well, just anytime
    I think the major supermarkets will have to keep an eye on these too discount stores.
     

  30. Mungo says:

    My wife and I have been shopping at Lidl in UK for about 6 months now but have been using Lidl in Germany for years. They may not have everything we want but we will walk out having spent about £20 a week less than if we had gone to one of the big stores. Also they do have some nice German bits which remind us of our time over there. The food is always good quality and fresh fruit and veg can be half the price of Tesco and Asda. It certainly makes the pay packet stretch that little bit further which allows for the odd treat here and there.

  31. Richard says:

    The Aldi in Aylesbury is just about to open. We currently shop at our local Lidl, which is just across the road from the new Aldi. We love these shops. The quality of food in Lidl is better than other supermarkets. They\’ve always got something different in. There are lots of continental brands of exiting food often better than the well known Brtish Brands, and lots of things I\’ve never seen before. I feel ripped off if I shop in the beter known supermarkets. Lots of what I used to pay in them went towards expensive shops and selling tecniques. Today in Lidl I was struck by how delightfully simple the shopping experience was, no techniques were used to manipulate my behaviour. There were just lots of good quality things for sale lined up on shelves in a logical layout. The shop is clean and bright, I like the blue and yellow checkouts and quick service.
     
    I feel clever, like the cat that\’s got the cream, when shopping in Lidl, I expect to feel the same about Aldi. today I bought more than enough ingredients for our family meal for just over £4, there is enough left over for tomorrows dinner. That feels great.
     
    I love these straight forward stores.
     
    Richard

  32. bb says:

    Lidl and Aldi are both very much mainstream shops in Germany and sell good quality food and stuff, the Germans wouldnt put up with less.

  33. Shani says:

    Not sure about lidl, but Aldi does fab chocolates, cheap children\’s wetsuits and chorizo cheaper than spain. the checkout can be a bit of a culture shock – reminiscent of kwik save.

  34. Alan says:

    Aldi & Lidl offer goods that you have to try to decide if you like – not all items are to British taste. They dont necessarily offer the variety that mainstream supermarkets do and in some cases their products are more expensive, such as basmati rice, which in Reading is cheaper in Morrisons than Lidl. The quality of veg at Lidl can be questionable as well, but the less dressed up feel is welcome compared to the manicured large supermarket image that is designed to make Sainsbury a place to enjoy. More people go shopping as a leisure activity than sport now. You will save money but dont be frightened to experiment

  35. chris says:

    Dont just get your groceries at Aldi or Lidl look out for tools,household goods& electric power tools,great value & with 3 or 5 year guarantees,also if you don\’t like anything they have no quibble exchange or money back ,Asda & others follow that.  

  36. Moin says:

    We have been shopping at Aldi for few years now. My wife goes their mostly for fruits and vegetables but comes back with bags full of other items. I go there to pick up Do it yourself tools and material. The best things I like to buy from them are eletronic goods such as digital cameras, tv,dvd recorders and even computers. They all come with free three years part and labour gauranty. Which is a great peace of mind. I have recently bought a Note Book from them. It is nearly £200.00 cheaper than any other brand of the same specs bought at other stores which give only one year gauranty. You have to pay £129.00 extra if you wish to extend the gauranty to three years. Aldi\’s technical help line cost only national rates unlike the premium rates other computer help lines charge. In my experience I have found all their electrical and electronic goods of very high quality. They would not give you free tree years gauranty if it was other wise. only draw back for us to shop at aldi is that it is too far away from where we live in central London. But it is worth the trouble.

  37. Jane says:

    Why are you being so snobbish about Aldi. You are making it sound like you should only shop there under cover of darkness. My husband and I have been shopping there for years. It is brilliant. I actually enjoy the fact that you have less to choose from and we find the own brand stuff really good. If you go to Germany everyone shops there it is the equivalent of Tesco. Also I love the fact that you can go in with the intention of buying a loaf of bread and come out with a cement mixer…….I kid you not !

  38. Unknown says:

    OK, here we go again. A media luvy who has not researched her subject. And what is it with this attitude of being ashamed. Why does it matter which shop you use. It is the items you want and if the products are good then why not shop there ? Are you that insecure…….
     
    Aldi is a much larger organization than Tesco\’s. It has stores worldwide and is considered the norm in many European countries.
     
    Aldi and Lidl staff are timed on how quickly they get their customers through the checkouts. It is the customer who is responsible for packing in order to keep staff costs lower. Nothing wrong in that ! I would prefer to pay less than have some dope pack my bags and then leave items out as has happened in Tesco ….. The rule is put your shopping straight back in the trolley and move on to let others through then pack your bags at the packing stations provided. Simple philosophy really.
     
    Packing materials are kept to a minimum to avoid waste hence costs are lower.
     
    Many products are branded names and do not follow Tescos or Sainsburys lack of choice in so much as branded names are removed.
     
    You pay in many supermarkets for trolleys and even parking ! You pretend to be an authority on the subject yet you seem to have little experience on the matter you are writing on.
     
    So why no produce objective reporting..and take a lead that the media in general should follow….
     
    And finally NO I am not an employee and have no vested interests in any of the stores. I simply want to be offered a choice at a good price and quality which Aldi, Lidl and some other so called inferior stores provide. And I also want us to support our local retaillers not always support the giants.
     
     
    The employees are paid better than Tesco and Sainsbury staff but they are also expected to perform other functions in the store.  Bags are paid for in their country of origin as recyclying has been the norm for years. Why keep wasting resources.

  39. piper says:

    I love it!  Me a media luvvy?  Right!  I\’m very flattered but the last time I looked in the mirror I wasn\’t  Jonathan Ross. As for being snobbish – I thought I would actually be honest about how I felt when I came back from my Aldi shop rather than lie to you and say I didn\’t feel like hiding my shopping bags. I wanted to show how peer pressure and brand snobbery is ridiculous but that it exists. And yes in our local Sainsbury\’s you pay for parking and in our B&Q you have to put £1 in a trolley to get it. I was impressed with Aldi though and will shop there again.

  40. suzanne says:

     
    I have shopped at my local Aldi\’s ever since it first opened and I have always found the produce extremely good, the staff are friendly and helpful and work very hard.  I like the foreign meats they sell and recently both galia melons and pineapples have been on offer for 69p each, the fresh produce is always fresh and I have noticed that recently as the shop has got busier if you want certain produce it is best to go in the mornings as they now sell out.  I also buy the flowers also very good value which last well over a week so why people are so snobbish about shopping at Aldi or Lidl beats me.  We have a Somerfield in the samll town I live in and the items there are both very expensive and the produce not nearly as fresh or tasty, Tesco prices have also risen quite considerably so if you have the chance give your local Aldi\’s a go you will be pleasantly suprised

  41. edna says:

    he only one I have used

  42. edna says:

    First time shopper in Aldi and i found it very good .  lidl was o.k. but the one i went to the staff were so unhelpful and the man on the checkout was exremely rude maybe I will try another one.  I dont like the idea of no hand baskets.  I am quite small and found the trollies very difficut.

  43. Jasmine says:

    Aldi and Lidl are awesome! I\’m 20 and i usually go there with my mum, they have (quite shockingly to some of you maybe) some really tasty and nice food. The meat products aren\’t bad at all. We regularly buy the sausages, bacon, chicken, hams etc and we haven\’t died!
     
    I don\’t think its healthy to be snobby in this day and age, everyone is losing out at the moment too, we can\’t afford to go to Sainburys or Marks and Spencers just because it makes you look good when you\’re walking down the street or into your home. And as if your neighbours would be bothered about where you shop, to be honest if they were bothered that just shows how boring a life they have. And like it was said in the article, they probably \’secretly\’ shop there too.
     
    Another point that someone else has made is the recycling of bags, if your a person who\’s embarrassed by shopping in these cheaper shops then takes those \’for life\’ bags. Plus it will save you money on the Aldi/Lidl bags. A good thing with those bags though is they are tough and big, which is more than i can say for the bags in Asda, Tesco and Sainsburys.
     
    Overall i\’d say just because these are cheaper shops doesn\’t necessarily mean the food is crap, it just means they aren\’t over pricing it to make a big buck off the consumers. It is obvious that more expensive shops will have a higher stature in society because people who drive BMWs and Jags can afford to shop there so it gives it a more up market feel, but when you go to Aldi don\’t expect to see old banged up ford escorts in the car park because you might be pleasantly suprised!

  44. Unknown says:

    Re aldi milk at £1.40 for 4 pints ,try wilkinsons yes they mostly sell household items but the bigger stores also sell small range foodstuffs, 4 pints milk is £1.27.

  45. Robert says:

    Please note that Woolton Pie (or at least the recipe in the link above – there are probably other varieties!) is not vegetarian.

    The reason: "…2 oz (56.7 g) lard". The pie doesn\’t have \’meat\’ in it,
    but lard is animal fat – therefore it\’s not suitable for vegetarians!

    That being said, it\’s probably still a good recipe if you avoid meat
    purely because it costs more. But it still shouldn\’t be described as
    "the vegetarian pie"…after all, vegetarians like me have enough
    trouble with fish or chicken being labelled as "suitable for vegetarians" by
    those who don\’t know what "vegetarian" actually means…

    (PS: Sorry for being a bit off-topic…but I had to point it out…)

  46. piper says:

    Absolutely right, Rob. Apologies for the oversight! xxx

Leave a Reply

