Country fitness: My first gym workout…

What can I say? My knees feel like they belong to somebody else, I have muscles aching in places I never thought existed and I am exhausted. Plus I have a strange feeling I’ll feel worse tomorrow!

I’ve survived my first real exercise workout since I left school in er…well…it was a different century! My first mistake was to walk the 25 minutes to and from the gym instead of driving there. It helped warm me up, but walking home was a bit of a struggle as I was tired and in a daze!

While I feel it now, to be honest the workout at Curves gym wasn’t as bad as I expected. As I explained the other day, the gym machines are in the round and you complete the circuit twice in 30 minutes. Kitty, who runs the gym, showed me how to use each machine again and did the circuits with me. She made it all look so easy, but I found it was much more difficult than it looked. One machine I’ve dubbed the seasickness simulator. You sit in a chair with a foam thing on the end which you grip between your knees. Then you cross your ankles underneath it and there’s a funny looking handle on the left hand side which goes across the chair and you have to grip the handles with both hands and pull it from left to right. I felt a little queasy after trying it out. Between using each machine, which you are only on for a few minutes at a time, you jog on the spot on a mat before switching to the next machine, so there is no time to get bored. And the loud techno encourages you to work faster.

What took me by surprise was how much I enjoyed it! Not to mention the sense of achievement after the 30 minutes was up and I was pouring with sweat. The one thing I had difficulty with was finding my pulse though, but don’t worry, I’m still here! At Curves you have to find your pulse three times during the session and count it over 10 seconds to check your heart rate isn’t too high. I was embarrassed at being so inept but apparently this is very common among new exercisers.

My free pass is for the week and I’ll definitely be visiting again to get the maximum exercise for nowt. But next week I’m on hols, so keeping up the fitness regime may prove difficult. Katie will be updating you on her progress and I’ll let you know how I’ve got on when I return.

Have a great weekend xxx Piper

This entry was posted in Fitness challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Country fitness: My first gym workout…

  1. Gill says:

    I\’m so pleased you enjoyed Curves, I\’ve been going for 2 1/2 years now and find it a great way to keep fit. It does get easier, trust me, and then you have to push yourself a bit harder to get the most out of it. It\’s 30 seconds on each machine which flys by, even the machines you\’re not so keen on aren\’t so bad for such a short time. Keep it up!
    Gill

Leave a Reply

