Summer talks in Essex

How are you? I don’t know about you but it seems to me that 2012 is flying by. I can’t believe it’s May already – you certainly couldn’t tell from the weather! As I write this there is a huge lake which has appeared in the field behind our house and is now filled with ducks and Canadian geese. My other half spotted a swan floating regally in it this morning.

Apologies for the radio silence. I have had to take a break from blogging here much of this year so far as I’ve been busy juggling work commitments with writing a new book on how to run a greener business for Gibson Square Press. It will feature lots of interviews and case studies with real companies and what they’ve been doing to be more environmentally friendly. I’ll let you all know more about it when the book comes out soon.

Meanwhile, I’ve been very privileged to ask to speak recently at a number of society meetings in and around Essex, including the Wanstead Women’s Group, the Shenfield U3A and St Mark’s School in Harlow, about how to be green without sprouting a ‘beard and sandals’ or spending a lot of money. I have also kindly been asked to give two further talks this summer in Essex, both on very different topics. Perhaps if you’re in the area you’d like to come along. On Mon 21st May I’ll be visiting the South East Essex Organic Gardeners in Prittlewell at 8pm to give a talk on my husband Douglas’s new salad growing venture Sweet Pea Salads which is launching soon in Hertford. Non-members are welcome to attend for an entry fee of £2. The address is Growing Together, 47 Fairfax Drive, Southend-on-Sea SS0 9AG (corner of Fairfax Drive and Prittlewell Chase).

For those of you who have more of a taste for crime than vegetables, I will also be speaking at the Essex Police Museum in Chelmsford on Thursday 14th June at 7.30pm about writing my crime novel Victim Support which is set in Essex and, if you don’t have one already, you can also get your personally signed copy of the book there from me at the discounted price of £6. If you fancy coming along, the museum is based at the Essex Police Headquarters, Chelmsford, Essex, CM2 6DA. If you’d like a copy of the book but can’t make it to the talk then please email me at piperterrett@googlemail.com.

Also, if you’re a member of a society in Essex, Hertfordshire or the London area and would like me to come and give a talk to your group or to your pupils at a school assembly – whether on how to be green, how to write a book or another topic – then please feel free to get in touch by emailing me at piperterrett@googlemail.com – I am generally happy to travel within an hour’s drive of Hertford where I now live.

Take care,

Piper


Share It

Share this post using del.icio.us del.icio.us  Share this post using Digg Digg  Share this post using Facebook Facebook  Share this post using Google Google 
Share this post using Live Spaces Live Spaces  Share this post using MySpace MySpace  Share this post using Newsvine Newsvine  Share this post using Reddit Reddit 
Share this post using StumbleUpon StumbleUpon  Share this post using Technorati Technorati  Share this post using Twitter Twitter  Share this post using Yahoo! My Web Yahoo! My Web 

This entry was posted in Environment, Essex, Speaking engagements, Uncategorized, Victim Support novel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer talks in Essex

  1. Organic Dad says:

    Hi Piper thanks for the great content on your blog . Hope to make it make your talk 21st May looking forward to hearing how Douglas organic gardening venture is going
    best of luck .. Organic Dad

  2. piperterrett says:

    Hi Organic Dad. Thanks for your kind comment and wishes. Hope you can make it along to the talk in May – do come over and say hi afterwards if you do. Cheers, Piper

Leave a Reply

